HOW TO REPAIR A BROKEN EYE SHADOW.

IMG_5037

I was quite discouraged yesterday when I did the post on my M.A.C. Cranberry, because I dropped the shadow while photographing it for the blog and it cracked/ chipped quite badly. It’s not visible in the images, but it cracked horizontally so that if I had to turn it upside down, quite a significant amount of the shadow would fall out in a large flake. I was already imagining myself going back to the M.A.C counter and replacing it, as it is my absolute favourite shadow, but I did some research and found out that with a little bit of rubbing alcohol, it is fixable. So it tried it and viola, my shadow is fixed and now looks almost as good as new. 🙂 Yay! This is how it’s done:

You will need: The broken shadow (obviously, and off course it does not matter how badly damaged it is.), some rubbing alcohol, a cutting board or plate and a butter knife.

IMG_5067

I started off by crushing the shadow with the knife. (If it’s already crushed because of an accident, then do not despair.)  I crushed it just a little, not to absolute powder. Keep in mind though that if the shadow is fairly new, some of the powder will spill over onto the cutting board, but not a considerable amount. It’s because while crushing it, the product takes up more space in the little pan and the little pan is only big enough to keep the shadow and not a ton of air as well 😉 (Sorry if I sound too technical. I’m a daughter of a scientist, so bear with me.)

I then added a few drops of the alcohol and took the knife to mix it into the shadow, creating a pink shiny mud. 🙂 Then I smoothed it out with the butter knife and set it aside to dry. Don’t worry too much if you’ve used a lot of the alcohol, because it evaporates anyway. Just try not to have it spill over the side of the pan.

IMG_5071

 As you can see, it’s almost spilling over the sides of the pan, but it still needs to dry out and be pressed.

IMG_5074

Because I started this project yesterday morning, I decided to press it halfway. In other words, I waited till last night and then I placed a tissue over the eye shadow and then pressed a coin tight onto the eye shadow to get rid of all the air pockets/ bubbles and to press the product tighter to prevent future cracks, chips and breaks. You can use an American quater, a Korean 100w or a South African R2 or any coin that is the same size or smaller than the eye shadow itself. 

IMG_5076

Here it is 🙂 The end result. I am very pleased with the way it turned out. It’s so close to new and it looks tons better than it looked like even before the accident and it was my first try!!! I will never ever throw eye shadows away again!

I hope that this post was helpful to you. 🙂

From a very happy blogger and makeup lover. 😀

Till next time.

❤ Amanda

9 thoughts on “HOW TO REPAIR A BROKEN EYE SHADOW.

    • Yes, it works for any mineralised make up. It even works for cream eye shadows that ‘expired’ because they dried out. Like paintpots. I have seen people do this with blushes, shadows and powder foundations. Good luck and let me know how it works out. 🙂

    • Man when your favourite colour breaks and you get that sinking feeling 😦 My mom told me she never wants to use powder shadows again, because they keep breaking and messing on everything in your makeup bag. I am really excited about this. Will try a few more but all my old stuff is at home in South Africa, while I’m in Korea.

  1. Pingback: Fixing broken eyeshadows | natzisstash

Leave a Reply

