M.A.C. GOLDEN HOURS MINERALISED EYE SHADOW PINWHEEL

Image

This eyeshadow along with another pinwheel from this collection is the very first purchase I ever made from M.A.C. It was released in a series of 5 pinwheels, in Autumn 2012. As far as I know, these were only released in Asia. I bought them in Korea. I have heard people ask about them in forums and it seems it was not internationally released. 😦

I will do another review on the pink one as well.

Here is an image that I got off Google, displaying the whole set: 

(http://prochats.she.com/fayetsui/files/2012/09/mac01.jpg)

Image

I decided on the brown and pink because it complements blue eyes the best out of this set. I would probably get the purple one as well, if I did not already have purple single shadows from M.A.C.

Here is an image of Golden Hours, taken without a flash:

Image

And just for the hell of it, I am posting two more pictures, with and and without a flash, displaying the inside of the pinwheel:

With the flash;

Image

Without the flash:

Image

As you can see, the pinwheel consist of 4 colours that are all golden metallic in one way or another. 

The colours in clock wise order. (My names for them)

1. Golden Chocolate Brown

2. Golden Caramel Brown

3. Coppery Gold

4. Golden Banana

Here are some swatches, with a swath along the side of ‘Amber Lights’ by M.A.C. (Another golden colour.)

With the Flash:

Image

Without the flash:

Image

As you can probably tell in the images above, this pinwheel’s colours don’t have as great pay off as the single M.A.C. eye shadows. Amber lights’ swatch is only one layer, where the pinwheel’s swatches are 3 or 4 each. I expected the Coppery Gold colour to be more like amber lights, but it is disappointing. 

When I first bought these, I thought they were amazing, but that was because I did not have any other M.A.C. shadows to compare them too. They have a lot of chunky glitter that does unfortunately cause quite a bit of fall out. 

Here are a few images of the look that I created with this pinwheel. (Also using Painterly Paintpot, Amber Lights, M.A.C Kohl eye liner pencil in Smolder and my go to mascara. )

Image

I used the Golden Chocolate Brown colour to fill in my brows. Then I applied Painterly Paintpot all over my lids, all the way up to the brow. I then applied the Golden Caramel Brown colour all over the lid to just below the crease line. I then applied Golden Banana as a highlither, below the brow. I then filled in the crease with Golden Chocolate Brown and applied Coppery Gold on the ball of my lid. I was however not happy with the pay off of Coppery Gold, so I applied Amber Lights over it to create a more golden effect. Then I took my Kohl eyeliner pencil and drew a line just above the upper lash line. I then took my finger and smudged it out. I also applied eyeliner to my waterline. I then put my mascara on as normal and then I had to wipe my cheeks with a wet wipe before applying my BB cream, because the pinwheel has a lot of chunky glitter and it caused quite a bit of fall out. 

Image

The colours in the pinwheel do make my blue eyes stand out, which I like, but just look at all that glitter!!!

Image

I am not terribly regretful of buying this eye shadow, but I can honestly say that if you have any of the naked palettes or any browns and golds from M.A.C’s permanent collection, I would not buy this. I honestly won’t try to replace it when it’s finished either. 

For a student who cannot afford spending 60bucks on 4 eye shadows, these kind of shadows are a much better option, as they go for 18bucks instead of the regular 15 bucks per eye shadow and you end up getting 4 colours. And then again, for that price, one can’t expect them to measure up to the regular shadows. It’s give and take.

I hope you have found this post helpful or interesting in any way. 🙂 Sorry that I made it sooo long! 

Till next time. 

❤ Amanda

Leave a Reply

