Would you depot your Mac lippies?

I’m pretty OCD and I travel a lot. In fact, I haven’t been home in the last 4years. Carrying a huge heavy stash of make up around can get a bit annoying so getting rid of extra weight is a must. At least for me. I’ve recently seen a YouTube clip by the lovely Dustin Hunter. He depots all of his Mac lipsticks and squeezes or melts them into stackable jars. My question for you is: would you turn this:

20131020-140923.jpg

Into this…

20131020-141036.jpg

I recently asked my best friend about this and she says that it takes the fun out of the Mac lipstick. It is true. My problem is that I don’t have a very distinctive lip line, so either way I don’t apply lipstick straight from the tube very well. I need a liner or a brush, no matter what. I do however like the shape of Mac lipsticks and if I were to buy a Riri loves Mac version or a Viva Glam, they are specially packaged and so pretty. I admit that it could get annoying if you have say 30 lippies that all look the same, because it’s so hard to find the colour you want and it’s very time consuming. So that’s one upside to putting them in stackable jars: you can see all to colours through the clear plastic and you can colour coordinate them. Another upside is that you can exchange 6 empty Mac lipstick containers ( or any Mac empty containers) for a free lipstick or eyeshadow, so you can grow your lipstick stash much faster.

Mac also sells good quality stackable containers for $6 for a set of 4 and they have the Mac logo on and everything.

What is your take in this? Would you depot or would you keep your lippies in their cute little bullets?

I’m on the fence with this, so I’d like to hear your views on this.

4 thoughts on “Would you depot your Mac lippies?

  1. Nah, I don’t find it necessary to use a lip brush for my lips most of the time. I love the shape of MAC lipsticks! I might depot them like this if it ends up too blunt though.

Leave a Reply

