Etude House Any Cushion Foundation

IMG_9814.JPG

Ladies and Jellyspoons

Those of you have followed my blog know that I’ve recently done a post on the Etude House Minnie XOXO collection. Today I will be doing an in depth review of the Minnie Xoxo Cushion Foundation. The Minnie Mouse packaging is limited edition, although the product itself is permanent, so don’t despair.

First off, let me tell you what it is: Any Cushion foundation is a big craze in Korea right now. Every brand is coming out with their own version of it. It’s a compact that contains a sponge filled with liquid foundation, that is then dabbed onto the skin with a cushion puffer. It’s supposed to be worn or applied, anywhere by anyone , at any time. (Since Korean men wear foundation, I completely understand where they are coming from with ‘anyone’.) Although the product is called a ‘foundation’, I’d feel safer calling it a BB cream.

Here is what it looks like:

IMG_9816.JPG

It comes with a mirror, which I find very handy, since I can put makeup on in the bus or train. (Believe it or not, in Korea that’s considered normal).
The cushion puffer can be replaced for a small amount, but it also washes easily with a brush cleanser. The product itself can also be replaced, without having to buy a whole new compact. The refill comes with a new cushion puffer as well.

They retail for $18
The refill retails for $10
and the puffer retails for $1

IMG_9815.JPG

The product, although it’s a liquid, will not leak out, thanks to the sponge and the air tight container within the compact, which means it can be carried around in expensive handbags without the risk of getting the bag ruined. When the sponge seems to become dry or the products seems to have run out, you can remove the sponge, flip it over and still find a considerable amount of product hiding on the bottom part of the sponge.

The product itself is light weight and thin in consistency, which is why I’d call it a BB cream instead of a foundation. It gives medium to good coverage, as do all good BB creams. I do find that a good concealer is necessary for those panda eyes of mine, before applying the product. It is however no indication of the product being bad quality. Even the most high end and pricy foundations don’t do the trick for my under eyes, so I’m still as impressed as ever.

IMG_0131.JPG

Here is the end result. As you can see, the mole next to my nose isn’t concealed, but the redness next to my nose is covered and my light freckles are covered. It doesn’t look like I’m wearing makeup in this picture and that’s just the way I like it. BB creams make your face look like your skin, but better. If you’re someone who prefers heavier foundations then this might not be the one for you.

There are two shades. No2 and w13. I’m wearing w13 which is the lighter shade and it’s more cool toned. It’s crazy that they only came out with two shades, but it does adjust to ones skintone, granted that you’re Caucasian or light skinned. I’m afraid most Korean brands don’t cater for women of colour at all. 😦

Here are some other options with this product. Every year they come out with another Disney colab. This year they came out with two adorable Cinderella cases of which I picked up one:

IMG_0132.JPG

Aside from the adorable cases, they also on occasion bring out protective pouches for these compacts made of silicone and this one looks like macaron:

IMG_0133.JPG

I hope that you’ve enjoyed this post. I’m sorry that it’s so long.

Have a lovely day! Tomorrow is hump day. Almost there \(^_^)/

Xoxo

Amanda

Leave a Reply

