Etude House My Little Nut Lipstick Review

5372

Hi Ladies and Jellyspoons

It’s been a long while since I was able to post on here, but I promise that this coming year will be more fruitful. This past year I have been blogging for a site called DupeUp. You can have a look at them over here. I will not be blogging for them this coming year, but I will from time to time share my blogs with you, that have been published there. I want to also take a moment to thank everyone for your support over the years and welcome those who have recently started following me. I only have love and appreciation for all of you.

Today I will be sharing my thoughts on some Etude House products. Those of you who have been following me for a while know that I have a very loving relationship with the brand. I find it very hard to restrain myself whenever they bring out a new collection, especially involving lipsticks.

This year they came out with a Nutcracker themed Christmas collection called My Little Nut. 🙂 I love the name. Not only am I obsessed with all things Russian including Tolstoy, ballet and the guy who plays piano for our choir (kidding), but I also really like Christmassy things. They have 7 lipsticks, 2 eye shadow pallets, mascaras in different colours, lip tints, hand creams, and cushion foundations. (I already have so many Etude House cushion foundations that it would be a crime if I got any more, but it is tempting.) I plan to eventually get my hands on the rest of the lipsticks and the eyeshadow palettes, but I will only be reviewing two lipsticks today.

Here’s the collection of lipsticks. I will be reviewing two of them today. Depending on what I get in my Christmas stocking (touch wood) I might be able to review more of the collection in the near future.

14478357_203086843459426_7593817932438700032_n

First of all, look at the packaging of these!

 

Those little soldiers are just too adorable! I believe there are only two variants of the boxes, as that is the case for the casing of lipstick itself. Here they are:image2-1

The first one I had my eye on is Nutcracker Pink PK01. What caught my attention is that it’s not just the average dark pink, but it has the most beautiful fine pink shimmer in it. I hope you will be able to see what I am referring to:

Here it is in the packing:image5-1

And here it is swatched on my lips:image8

I should really get a back up of this one. It glides on so smoothly, as do all their Dear My Enamel Lips products, which I believe these are just special editions of. The packaging looks the same in shape, but the regulars are in a matte pink plastic casing, where these are shiny pink with the extra Nutcracker themed gold details.

The next one is called Red Chilly Peppers RD 305

Here it is in the tube:image6

It reminds of Chilly by MAC, in colour only, as this one is more of cream sheen finish. I was never one for brownish reds, but since I’ve coloured my hair black, it seems to look better on my than when my hair was brown or blonde.

Here is swatched on my lip:

image9

AS you can see, the creamier consistency definitely makes it much more opaque then it comes across in the tube. Even though it is labelled red, it’s really more of a terra cotta brown.

Here they are swatched on my arm:image7

There remind me a lot of the Dear My Wish Lips Talk collection, especially Red Chilly Peppers. They apply really smoothly, but I would recommend a good lip scrub for those living in dry areas or struggling with chapped lips. The opaque finish and the creaminess makes it easy for any dry patches on the lips to be emphasized.

 

The verdict:

Pros:

They are affordable

Great quality

Applies smoothly yet evenly

Not drying at all

Cons:

Opaque and creamy can make chapped lips look bad

Limited edition so if you love it, you can’t go back and get another one

You would want them all and it might hurt you savings a bit.

Would I repurchase? Yes, in fact I feel the need to buy some extras in case I run out.

 

There you have it beauties and beaus.

Tell me which part of the collection interests you the most and why, in the comments bellow.

Merry Christmas and lots of love

Amanda

Leave a Reply

