Kailijumei Barbie Doll Powder Review

botom

Hello Ladies and Jellyspoons

Today I have a totally different product to review for you. It’s the famous Hong Kong branded lipstick by Kailijumei. These lipsticks come in classy red casings which operate the same as the Channel lipsticks in that you click it to open. It also comes with a little mirror attached to the side of the bullet. The lipstick product itself is what sells this brand in the it comes in a clear jelly like formula and it contains a tiny little flower and flakes of real 14k gold inside it. The clear product gives the lipstick a glass like appearance and it reminds me a lot of the forbidden rose in the west wing of The Beast’s castles in Beauty and the Beast.

One of my students at my former workplace gifted me one for teacher’s day and I was ecstatic about it, since they are not currently available in Korea as far as I am aware, and they’ve always had me intrigued. I got Barbie Doll Pink. This is what the product looks like in the casing:

IMG_3726.jpg

I really appreciate the slick design and the click to open function.

Here are some pictures that won’t really do the lipstick justice, because one really has to see it to fully take in its beauty:

IMG_3727IMG_3729IMG_3731

The product works the same way those dollar store lipsticks work in that it is heat activated and changes colour on the lips, but these are designed to have the same colour on everyone, and doesn’t change according to one’s mood. It also applies like a gloss but dries out like a tint and the colour takes a bit of time to develop on your lips.

This is what it looked like when I first applied it:

IMG_3733

It’s quite glossy and the distribution isn’t as even as I would’ve liked.

Here is an image taken 20 minutes after application:

FullSizeRender.jpg

The picture doesn’t really show the colour correctly and I’m struggling to get the right lighting in this monsoon weather, but I’d definitely say that the pictures on the net could be deceiving. It for sure didn’t come out as pink as I thought it would. I’d imagine it would look slightly different depending on the natural colour of your lips.

Would I repurchase? Yes, I’d like to try some of the other colours of which there are many. I would just like to add that these lipsticks have a vile jelly candle taste to them. I can’t even rightly describe it. It’s not as sweet as glycerine, but it has a similar franck taste to  it.

Overall I’d say it’s a fun product to try out and it’s definitely as beautiful as they claim if not more. As a lipstick in and of itself, without all the hoopla of the colour changing and the clear product, it leaves a lot to be desired.

That’s it from me, form a rainy Seoul.

xox

Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

