Etude House Be My Universe Pinky Galaxy Eyeshadow Palette Review

Hello Ladies and Jellyspoons

Today I’m going to reviewing one of my favourite Christmas collaborations by Etude House called Be My Universe. Be My Universe is a stunningly beautiful space themed special edition Christmas collection, featuring 5 lipsticks,  2 eyeshadow palettes, and 2 hand creams,  I already reviewed the three of the five lipsticks that I bought from this collection here, and today I will be reviewing one of their eye shadow palettes called Pink Galaxy.

Pink Galaxy is one of two beautiful eye shadow palettes. I will probably get the other soon as well, but this one appealed to me the most as the colours seemed to be best suited for green or blue eyes, or blue-green eyes, like myself.

Firstly, this is the packaging:

img_0045.jpg

I’ve been carrying this palette in my bag for the last week or two (however long I’ve had it) and I’ve been carrying it in the box to keep it from being damaged. I absolutely love the iridescence and the little stars that is on everything.

This is what the palette looks like unboxed:

img_0046.jpg

Once you open it, you’ll see this amazing little clear plastic cover with stars on it. (I saw this on the website and thought it was photoshopped onto the eyeshadows.)

IMG_0047

Now for the best part. You can probably tell that he blusher has a Saturn imprinted in the powder, and yes, it’s awesome!

img_0048-1.jpg

They named the shadows in Korean and I thought it would be fun to translate them.

 

I’m going to start at the top:

Here are the swatches:

IMG_0049-1

안드로메다 Andromeda:

IMG_0051

This is probably the most unique colour in the palette. It’s dark taupey black with red undertones and shimmer. I’ve used this as a brow filler in a push comes to shove situation when I realised at a choir performance that my brow pencil ran out. I thought it was going to be disastrous but I ended up getting a lot of compliments on it so I might continue using it for that. It’s also perfect for the smokey eyed look.

문라이트 Moonlight:

IMG_0058

This colour is a disaster. As yo can see in the swatch, it does not even show up. It’s one of those colours that you can use to add shimmer to a look as an afterthought. I have used it as an inner corner colour and it wasn’t terrible, but it was quite powdery and required a lot of work to actually make it show up at all.

머큐리 Mercury:

IMG_0053-1

Mercury reminds me of Vanilla by MAC, although I can make swatches because I’ve run out of mine, as it used to be my go to brow bone highlighter. With that being said, this is perfect for fair skinned folks to use as a brow bone highlighter.

비너스 Venus:

IMG_0054-1

Venus is one of those colours that I know I should use more but just never reach for. It remind of those longs lists of must have colours for blue eyed girls. The ones where I pick out the shimmery ones and never get the matte ones. I can use this in the crease or as a bronzer or contour colour, but it cal also be used for people with olive skin tones as a brow bone highlight.

레드웜홀 Red Wormhole:

IMG_0055

This is definitely in my top two if not my favourite colour in this palette. I must admit it’s not because it’s the most unique colour. It’s actually quite comparable to MAC Cranberry. But it’s so so beautiful and the colour payoff is fantastic.

Here is a picture comparing the two: (Cranberry at the top and Red Wormhole at the bottom)

IMG_0059

Cranberry is ever so slightly more pink, but it’s close enough in my opinion. Etude House hasn’t always had the best reputation at creating good eyeshadows but this to me is proof that they’ve really upped their game.

타임워프 Timewarp:

IMG_0056

Timewarp is also a unique colour and the colour payoff isn’t too rotten. At first glance it reminded me of Satin Taupe by MAC but it’s browner and less purple, but it does wear quite pink. Not pink pink but like rose gold.

핑크플래닛 Pink Planet:

IMG_0057-1

Pink Planet is much more peachy in real life than it shows up in the picture. It’s a beautiful satin finished blush but could also be used as an eyeshadow. It’s the type of blush that works well on fairer people so it’s definitely not an all inclusive colour.

I definitely feel like this is worth the investment despite the underwhelment of Moonlight. The products are definitely better than what I expected. I’m going to try my best to get my hands on the other palettes, but I never care much for hand creams that come in collaborations like these.

Have a lovely weekend! Until next time

xox

Amanda

Leave a comment